13 Steps to Bloody Good Luck – LUCK QUOTIENT

Destiny is not a matter of chance; it is a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved.

These are the words of American politician William Jennings Bryan from the book “13 Steps of the Bloody Good Luck” by Ashwin Sanghi. The author concludes his book with new term Luck Quotient. Just like human intelligence is known as Intelligent Quotient IQ, the feelings and emotions known as Emotional Quotient EQ, on similar terms the success variable is known as Luck Quotient LQ.

IQ is a simply a number derived from a standardized intelligence test. IQ stays quiet stable throughout our life and can be helpful during our initial years. It falls short in managing people, situations or relationships, which is also important for our success. Here EQ comes to sort these things. EQ is a measure of our ability to sense, understand and effectively apply the power and acumen of facilitate high levels of collaboration and productivity. Successful people are those who can combine high IQ with high EQ.

But it’s difficult to explain how a low IQ person with high EQ become successful or a person with high IQ but low EQ becomes successful. This invisible factor, author called it as an unknown variable LUCK QUOTIENT. To explain it he has shared some questions to get clear picture on this new term LQ.

  • Am I confident about myself?
  • Do I communicate effectively with people?
  • Do I stay calm, even in successful situations?
  • Do I remain alert to opportunities and developments around me?
  • Do I try to forget old attitudes and approaches?
  • Do I make the best of bad situations?
  • Do I listen to my intuition?
  • Do I try to strengthen my intuitive abilities?
  • Do I grow and strengthen my network of friends and acquaintances?
  • Do I make an effort to be nice to others?
  • Am I generous to others?
  • Am I willing to take calculated risks?
  • Do I cut losses and quit when needed?
  • Do I learn from my mistakes?
  • Do I stay informed?
  • Do I pick up ideas and absorb them for future use?
  • Do I have a positive attitude to life?
  • Do I preserve in the face of failure?
  • Do I avoid getting affected when others criticize me?
  • Do I seek opportunities to get paid for my passion?
  • Do I usually organize, plan and prioritize?
  • Do I leverage my strengths and potential?
  • Am I open and willing to try new things?

If the answer is yes to most of the above questions, the chances are that we have high LQ. A high LQ is an indicator of our ability to attract good luck. If LQ isn’t too good, don’t despair, by working on our weakness the LQ can be improved over time.

The author concludes the chapter with an extract from Shakespeare’s play Julius Caesar, Men are at some time masters of their fates; The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves…

Leave a comment